Spotlight on Sandy Larson

Spotlight on Sandy Larson

Birthdate: March 28, 1983... Am I really going to be 35...

Birth Place: Born in St. Paul, but reside in Buffalo

Family: I have a loving husband, Braden. Two kids Christian (5) and Emma (3). Lily our 8 month old yellow lab and Nora our 9 year old cat.

Personal strengths: I would have to say that my personal strengths would be my determination to never give up.

Personal weaknesses: My inability to get away from my regular routine.  I have a bit of anxiety / OCD when it comes to this.

Reason for joining Northstar: The first time I went out with group was really enjoyable. Everyone was easy to talk to and it made the 10 miles fly by. I also have couple friends that were already a part of the group and it made me want to be a part of the team. Now, I just need to get out with the group more often... (see my weakness) 🙂

Favorite running shoes:  Right now my Brooks Ghost 10. I used to be a Nike girl, but I haven't had a pair on in over a year!

Favorite place to run:  Anywhere. I love when I am up north at the cabin and am able to run around the lake. The only downside is all of the horsefly's.

Running Goals:

  • Short-term: To do a sub 2 at the Rock N Roll Nashville half in April. I didn't know I was doing the race until a few days ago so not sure if I will be able to do it, but I am going to try.
  • Long-term:  To run more marathons and improve at them.

Proudest Running Achievement: Completing the TC Marathon in October. I couldn't believe the emotional roller coaster that came with this.

Typical training week, a month or two before a major race: Run every day. Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday's twice a day. A little bit of strength training and a ton of cottage cheese.

Running idol: Shalane Flanagan

Injuries: None really. My IT band has given me some issues, but other than that pretty healthy.


  • Marathon PR: 4:23:16
  • Half-Marathon PR: 2:02:47
  • 25K PR:
  • 10 Mile PR: 1:30:20
  • 10K PR:52:46
  • 5K PR:25:17
  • 1 Mile PR: 8:31

Non-running Hobbies: Cooking, spending time with the family, hanging out with friends. Listening to music and running a business.