Spotlight on…Jack Jorgensen!

Age: 32

Birth Place: Minnesota

Family: Bia (wife) and Charlie (dog)

Personal strengths: Being open to challenging myself in new ways. Over the course of my high school track career, I participated in 12 of the 18 possible events for Minnesota high school track and field. I also have participated in about a half dozen triathlons since 2008, most of which were sprint distance. A few years back, I biked 160 miles just to see if it would be possible to ride from the Twin Cities to a family cabin up north in a single day (spoiler: it's possible).

Personal weaknesses: Chocolate; mornings.

Reason for joining Northstar: In 2021, I spent about 6 months recovering from a chronic Achilles injury that kept me away from running for the longest period of time since I was a senior in high school, and when I started slowly getting back into it this year, I thought it would be good to meet some new people and put more structure around my otherwise disorganized training schedules. I've been hooked since day 1!

Favorite running shoes: Asics Gel Cumulus

Favorite place to run: Parque Ibirapuera in São Paulo, Brazil. I lived in São Paulo for about three years and met my wife there as well.

Running Goals:

  • Short-term: Run one race before the end of 2022
  • Long-term: 1:20 half marathon

Proudest Running Achievement: Sub 1:30 half marathon in 2016

Typical training week, a month or two before a major race: 30-35 miles spread over 5 or 6 days.

Running idol: Jeff Galloway

Injuries: None at the moment, and hoping it stays that way!

PRs: 

  • Marathon PR: 3:25:11 (Twin Cities 2017)
  • Half-Marathon PR: 1:29:41 (Lake Minnetonka 2016)

Non-running Hobbies: I still play hockey once or twice a week and enjoy cross country skiing as well.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

facebook
twitter
instagramm